Overall Score

8.4
Please Vote!

Avast! Is a security suite package developed by Avast Software who are a Czech based company who made their debut into the world of business in 1988. This highly experienced company know what they are doing in the cyber security world, that’s for sure! Towards the end of 2016 they bought AVG for $1.3 billion.

  • Features - 8
  • Security - 10
  • Support - 7
  • Affordability - 9
Features

Features

One feature stands out to us and that’s ‘Sandbox’ - A tool that allows the user to run any file within a confined and controlled virtual environment. If the file is malicious it won’t cause any damage to the device when in this mode, as it’s not actually running on the device, but in this virtual mode. A very handy and innovative tool to reduce the chance of viruses getting on your device. Avast! also comes with the standard features like, real-time scanning, a quarantine and even bonus features like a password manager and browser security tool. In other words the software is packed full of features.

Security

Security

Avast! is a company with a great reputation and tons of awards to back up this up. Software is always evolving however, so awards can quickly become out-dated and not representative of the current software the company produces. However if the company has so many awards you’d expect them to always produce quality goods.. well that’s not always the case, Norton for example produced a very unstable version of their AV and consumers were going mad, we don’t blame them. Viruses are always being changed in order to get around AVs so if they can’t keep up with the times, serious threats could start to sneak through. We performed our own testing with some of the most recent and aggressive viruses and honestly, the software is performed flawlessly and looks great too.

  • VB100 - 100.00%
  • AV Test - 100.00%
  • AV Comparatives - 99.60%
Support

Support

24/7 phone support is a great addition to their support but they are lacking live chat which is a bummer as it’s such a convenient way of contacting companies these days! Their website however, is stunning! Potentially the nicest site out of all the companies we review. To be able to navigate around a website with ease is truly one of the most satisfying things and trust us, you can do this with Avast! Great work Avast!

Affordability

Affordability

Avast! offer an amazing free solution which millions of people use but comparing a free version to paid wouldn’t seem fair. Obviously, Avast! also offer a paid solution otherwise we wouldn’t be reviewing them right now. So, their Premier antiirus package works out at $69.99 per year per device. Only offering 1 device protection per subscription is quite disappointing as the average citizen now owns 2.5 internet connected devices! Most companies nowadays will allow at least 2 devices per subscription to cater for the average consumer. However Avast! do offer a 30 day free trial which is a great way to try out their software with no commitment whatsoever.

  • Overall rating

Dean Landorf - 02/04/2020

Cancelled the free trial because it was shutting down some of my programs. Cancelled about a month ago, but Avast still took $60 out of my account. Don't buy as it is a scam.

Tom Trimble - 01/21/2020

I've had Avast for some time now and it never gave me any problems till last night when I decided to uninstall it so I could put another antivirus that had lots of utilities with it. After uninstalling it I noticed my desktop backround was gone, only a black one was there. This computer was so slow it was painful to do anything with it. I tried everything to get it back to a working system, but no way. I decided to download malware bytes software to check for them and it found 2153 files. They must have been put there by avast because they were not there before. I tried everything and still nope would not work right. I want to thank Avast for really screwing up my system, in fact I got so mad I disconnected it and threw it on the sofa and kicked it twice. I will NEVER use, or recommend this to anyone. Go to HELL Avast !!!

John - 01/12/2020

This is not a free antivirus. Just a trial.

ivan - 01/12/2020

AVAST is a very bad company I refused to renew my subscription to their inadequate software.They harm you

margaret thacker - 01/02/2020

l have loved having my anti virus clean up service. Since having my computer serviced l no longer have the icon for this 'cleaning up service', could you help to restore this service, then l can continue 'cleaning up my system from rubbish'.. Many thanks, Margaret Thacker. bluebell141@btinternet.com

JC - 09/15/2019

Sleezey outfit - cancelled 2 subscriptions within 30 days - gave every excuse in the book why they haven't sent refund, then the site that they correspond from sends message saying this isn't the site for refunds. filing with BBB.

fuck you - 08/23/2019

windows wouldnt stop begging for me to get an antivirus so i wanted to install avast while installing it bluescreened my pc and deleted 500gb+ of my files fuck you avast and your shitty code i hope all of you fuckers go die alone and forgotten

Robert Dieser - 07/16/2019

AVAST is a very bad company I refused to renew my subscription to their inadequate software as my computer was hacked and all my pictures were taken. Furthermore as a result of not resubscribing AVAST loaded me up with mal- ware they have blocked my access to my bank account they have changed my key strokes, given me broken screens and delayed all activity on my computer. These are NASTY BAD PEOPLE and should not be allowed to do business. Take them down these people are NO GOOD! I have turned them in to the FCC; take them down!

Arthur Grech - 07/01/2019

Obviously Avast did not protect me even as a paying customer, got a very bad virus and could not connect up to the internet or even my documents. Lucky I had backed up months prior as I had to re-install Windows 10

Nope - 06/05/2019

i didnt even download it and it calles all my games VIRUSES and shuts them down! I hate it!

Kathleen Hay - 04/09/2019

I upgraded to full protection on the 10/2/2019 paid $50. had nothing but trouble with it, I took it to the computer service man and he said it was the AVG program my computer had over 1000 viruses. the man had to delete every thing and start again he told me never to put AVG on the computer again. I don't know if you give refunds , or I have to put it down to experience , not a happy customer

kim jolly - 04/01/2019

Looking around for AV ware. Avast had a lot of good reviews. The web site indicates you can get a free copy. I opted for that only to be charged. If it is that good I will persevere. Installation and activation is confusing with little help in the setup facility. Avast consists of several modules, when ordering make sure you get the correct one. I just wanted internet protection somehow I also managed to get Avast passwords, do not want that. I am a Mac user and use mail to manage my email accounts. Avast is constantly asking me for the email account passwords, then I get several messages a day from Microsoft about suspicious activity on my email accounts. Avast appears to block access to the email accounts. If anyone is considering using Avast get a through understanding of how it works before you install it, otherwise you could be in for some interesting times. I did call support once they did resolve the installation problem, but the woman on the help desk was very abrupt and I got the impression had better things to do with her time than waste it on customers.

420-275398-453q98645 - 03/15/2019

I like avast so much so that I gave you £34.99 on the 9/9/2018. It says on bank statement that it went to you from my card 1810 08/2018 to CBA*Avast Software S.R CLEVERBRIDGE . DE so please update your records.

David Huffine - 02/23/2019

I bought AVG from my internet provider years ago. Then, viola!, it was free and called Avast. But what they put on my PC is Avast business antivirus. Now, every day or even more often, when I go to check on it, it's now "turned off". So I have to turn on about 6 different buttons, run the scan, then it's back on again. Then 6 or 10 hrs later, it's turned off again. No, no one else is messing with the PC and it's not networked. What's up with that? Why does everyone think it's so great if it keeps turning off?

Michael Grudman - 02/20/2019

The best one