Overall Score

8.7
Please Vote!

Norton Antivirus, developed and distributed by Symantec in 1991 is a strong contender in the security suite game. The product has 25 years of evolution under its belt and it definitely packs-a-punch when it comes to design and usability! Symantec haven’t just concentrated on the private sector but have also generated a ‘small business’ solution which allows centralized management from the cloud. Being one of the most identifiable brands in the antivirus industry, (possibly due to it’s original colour scheme?) means that software issues in any of the versions released could mean huge amounts of stick from the media. However it’s not all bad news, Norton have more PC magazine editors’ choice awards than any other security company. PCMAG.com have awarded Norton their editors’ choice 37 times!

  • Features - 5
  • Security - 6
  • Support - 8
  • Affordability - 8
Features

Features

Depending on the suite you decide to go for, the feature set will vary. All suites come with the basic Virus, Spyware, Malware and Online threat defender, meaning even if you opt for the cheapest, most basic version you’ll still be covered by the fundamentals. If you feel that having the standard protection isn’t adequate enough, then the next solution doesn’t really offer a lot more - for an extra $10 per year, you’ll get smartphone protection, access to an online web portal (which could be seen as a gimmicky feature) and protection for up to another 4 devices. We think this is the deciding factor for spending the extra few quid, as the average american has 3 or more devices connecting to the internet.

Security

Security

Like we said earlier, Norton has 25 years of experience so you’d expect a reliable, stable and quality product. However some reports say differently. Norton has been known to detect completely benevolent software as being malicious and by doing so leaves the software useless. It’s not always better to be safe than sorry, especially not in this case.

  • AV Test - 100.00%
  • AV Comparatives - 99.30%
Support

Support

Norton have a top notch support section on their website, head over to the Need Help? menu on the navigation bar where you will be introduced to categoric support, from help with Downloading/Installing to Threat removal. However, if you haven’t got the time to explore the website for your query, then you have the ability to search the whole support site. If none of this interests you, or maybe you just want to be in contact a human who can give you a definite answer, scroll on down to the bottom of the page where you will find Contact Support. Live chat is the most popular option - very minimum wait time and you don’t have to move from your seat! Annoyingly, if you want to pick up the phone to call someone, getting access to Norton’s contact number is harder than it should be, you will have to fill out a rather unnecessarily-long form.

Affordability

Affordability

At $3.35 pm for the standard package, which allows protection for only one device and only offers the most simplest set of features, it’s nowhere near the most cost effective product on the market, luckily they do offer a Deluxe suite which significantly improves the cost effectiveness. The Deluxe package costs $49.99 but for this you get 5 times the amount of protection! What we mean by this is that you can cover up to 5 devices, including Windows, Macs, Smartphones and Tablets (Android or iOS). This works out at just under $10 per device, which we think is very reasonable.

  • Overall rating

ken - 04/13/2020

same thing been buying the pre paid cards for years now they want credit card or pay pal in order to activate there own prepaid card what [art of prepaid card don't they understand

ken - 04/13/2020

same thing been buying the pre paid cards for years now they want credit card or pay pal in order to activate there own prepaid card what [art of prepaid card don't they understand

greg - 03/22/2020

bought Norton as my anti virus software protection..then I got a virus, called norton and found out I had to pay norton another $125.00 to remove the virus. Really?? I was running your anti-virus software. Why should I have to pay to have it removed if your protection didn't work? WTH did I buy? Who reading this thinks I'm so stupid I'll spend one dollar to buy this again? SO what will happen to you if you get a virus after buying Norton software? I already know...and you need to know too.

Kathleen - 03/13/2020

Wish I had read reviews before I purchased Norton 360. Horrible!

Very Unhappy - 02/05/2020

We've used Norton for years. We bought Norton at a local store, and paid for it in full. Symantec refuses to let us install it, unless we give them a credit card for them to charge for an upgrade in one year, when this one is done. That's ridiculous! We are returning Norton for a refund. This was all verified in a long chat with a Norton representative, who confirmed Norton will not install, even when fully paid for, unless you give them a credit card for them to charge next year. We have never done this, because buying direct from Norton always gets the worst price buy far (actually 2 to 3 times higher than from local stores). Also, there are many people complaining on the Internet of over charging and double charging. I told the customer representative we are switching to McAfee. He said there is nothing he can do to help us. Symantec seems to have forgotten that you can't force your customers to buy things. You have to sell them, because we customers have the money and the choice of where to spend it. Some how Symantec has gotten a failing business model. Very sad.

patricia mills - 01/08/2020

Best part of Norton (once I finally found "Support" was an agreeable person who says my subscription (made yesterday) will be cancelled with VISA in 5-7 days. If you purchase, *do not* opt for NORTON COMPUTER "TUNE UP" -- biggest screw up, ever. Norton opens 12 tabs every log on, my screen hops up and down. I don't get it: this great name in anti-virus has a BAD WEBSITE that runs a logged-in account user around in multiple circles. AVOID!

Jez Moore - 01/05/2020

I have been a customer several years but I have just cancelled Norton have a habit of auto renewing at an inflated price this year £79.99. Yet I can buy a similar Norton product on line as a new customer for £10-£20, how's that for customer loyalty....No thank you Norton This happened last year And I phoned Nortnon Customer Services we negotiated a reduced renewal and asked for auto renew to be removed from the account, obviously this was not done .... Thank you Norton you have lost me as a long standing customer. Buyer beware of this, in my opinion highly dubious behaviour

Mark R Hagood - 08/20/2019

Norton is not good any longer; bought Norton Antivirus to load on new laptop and it wouldn't load so called the company; they informed me the virus protection won't load up because of MALWARE problem and wanted an excessive amount of money to fix it; upon research I learned that in fact Norton and other companies have a Malware software to load i[ for considerably less money but they tried to sell me on having them doing it for @$595 for basic and about $1000 for lifetime; the software is available at one store for $50. I had been with Norton for many years but this did it for me; I'm done.

Efodia Kamia - 06/28/2019

install Norton

R.Nich - 05/31/2019

Norton is worthless, It provided very little protection and caused several thousands of dollars in loss to equipment due to missed viruses that infected our offices..Weve been using Kaspersky for 12 years and never had virus damage to a single computer ..Norton in my opinion is a virus in itself its lack of protection and suspected third party malware data mining through Norton

joseph a bouchard - 03/30/2019

i bought a new computer and all i want os to tranmsfer my account to my new one and am having no luck

Defob - 01/21/2019

Norton is everything PC Mag says it is, been user over a year. Aggressive users actually want false positives, and I trust Norton to come up with marginal ones. But I request an exception if I'm not in paranoid mode. Then I go behind Norton detection, and identify my own false positives removing PUPs tongue in cheek. Norton handles cleanup while still letting me be in charge of major cleanups.

John V. - 01/19/2019

Here's what I've learned to expect of Norton. The product is great but that's where it ends. They will lure you in with a low price then upon renewal the price will increase to 3 or 4 times what you were paying. You will call to complain then they will cut the price and not tell you about the automatic renewal. The next year it will start all over again. But you're smarter and will say you don't want the automatic renewal. The next year it will automatically renewal again! They will say we sent you an email but you know they didn't. They will say we have no record of you not wanting the automatic notice but because you're a valued customer we will cut your bill in half. You can ask for a supervisor but you will only get the same baloney from that person. When you ask for the name of the department or person that is telling them to lie to you they will tell you it's company policy not to give out that information. You can do what you want but I'm looking elsewhere.

John Craigie - 01/09/2019

Installed on Apple MacBook Pro with OSX, I thought the Norton and Symantec name would mean something but unfortunately this antivirus program does not allow for excluding APPS, it finds my MACBOOSTER program/app as a virus and deletes it, I have confirmation from Norton that the antivirus program on Mac OSX can not exclude individual programs/apps, so please be careful.

Kaz - 11/30/2018

I was shocked when I got the renewal fee for the next 12 months. $219 AUD ! I think far too expensive for what it is. They also take the money out of your bank early well before expiry date !! Another corporation overpriced to previous loyal customers. I'm moving on and will not be renewing again that's for sure.